Getting Focused in 2016

So here we are in the 2nd week of January where many people are either in full swing of their New Year’s resolutions, or already in the down swing.  I for one have been working hard to get myself focused for this new year, and while I don’t have a perfect formula to spit out, I do have some great things I have implemented and am learning so far. I joined a book club on facebook right around the holidays who had to read “The Miracle Morning” by Hal Elrod. In the book he lines out a great little plan for getting motivated and focused each day in the morning by doing what He calls SAVERS, which stand for Silence, Affirmations, Vision, Exercise, Reading and Scribing (which is writing or journaling).  I also made a tab in my planner for each of these so I would have them close by me whenever I wanted.  It has been a great tool to get me going with my day, and having the extra accountability group online is great as well.

Along with this, I have also been working on my goals and visions for this next year.  I have spend a lot of time in introspection so that I could move forward in this new year with more clarity and purpose.  It’s defiantly  a continual process to figure out, and one that has helped me remember to rely on God in all of this.  We can, and often do become bombarded with information all around us, but as we ask God to join and direct the process, he’s faithful to help.  This is exactly what had happened to me recently as I was exploring some new areas of interest on youtube.  What seemed like a rabbit trail of wonder and utter loss at one point (yes, you can have both at the same time), ended up leading me to other things I actually needed in this season.  I was re-directed to Tony Robbins, who I used to read to in my 20’s but got away from as life led me in different directions.  He’s now been inspiring me on a deeper level in this season to look at my life in a very intentional way, cut out the excuses and do what makes me become my best self.  This, along with my SAVERS, has really helped me to stay focused.  It’s just a few tools that I have found to be so helpful in my own journey.

To be focused, we have to learn to cut out the distractions around us, seek God to led us and direct our steps to what WE need in THIS season. We are all different and drawn to different tools.   There are other resources that I have found to be helpful that I may share another time, but each day we must learn to live in peace with ourselves and our choices and let God direct us to the things that we are to give our attention to.

What have you found that works for you to stay focused in the different areas of your life in this new year?  I’d love to hear about it.

 

 

 

Leave a comment