“But It is Written” NANOWRIMO and Re-Starting My Blog

OK, so it’s been awhile since writing on this blog, I get it.  But I have been writing; just on the back pages of my Scrivener program.  Today is NANOWRIMO, which stands for National Novel Writing Month, where the challenge is to write a 50,000 page novel in 30 days.  Crazy,yes I know, and I’ve wanted to do this for several years, but never thought I had it in me, and I still don’t, but you have to start somewhere, so why not go all in?!  The beauty of it is that you have a lot of people doing the same thing and rooting each other on.  So why would I decide to start my blog back up on the same day when I am taking on such a large project?  Because tomorrow’s never guaranteed, and after reading a lot of Jeff Goins; who continues to chime in my ear that the world needs my words, and that there is never going to be that right moment when everything lines up just as you want it to, so just dive in because no one is going to push you in to do the work.  So I’ll let this be my public declaration for accountability.

But first, let me quickly  back up and remind you how I usually get my inspiration for my writing, and why it called me back to my blog. First of all this is a Christian Inspirational Blog; where I share some of the things God is doing or speaking to me about and encourage others to follow Him deeper as well.  I started blogging when I was back in seminary  I was going deep in the things of God, learning to hear His voice, and felt God was inspiring me to write and share what He was placing on my heart.  It went pretty well and I have a pretty great following, but then life happens, the inspiration to blog seemed to shift in another direction and I slowly walked away from my blog thinking it’s season was done.  I ended up finishing school in hopes to going into ministry and when doors didn’t open, I felt stuck and semi-disillusioned by it all, but still knowing God had a plan.  Writing started calling to me again and I’d dabble a little bit here and there on the blog, even blogging about writing, but it didn’t feel like it did in my previous season of blogging where words just seemed to fall off my fingers as I typed.  In the journey of it all, I submitted an article this past summer to Whole Magazine online which you can read here:  http://www.wholemagazine.org/posts/learning-to-embrace-where-god-places-you-in-every-season    Since then, I have been reading books and blogs on writing, I have joined a few writing groups and am trying to network with other writers that I know.  I am learning a lot, such as the importance of finding the right people to support you and who get your writing style.

So getting back to being inspired by God; this morning as I read some more of Jeff Goins writing; I opened one of my devotionals and read the first line for the first day of November “But it is written”  What more needs to be said in re-starting my blog on the same day of the start of NANOWRIMO?!?!  The whole verse given was 1 Corinthians 2:9-11 which reads:

but just as it is written,

Things which eye has not seen and ear has not heard,
And which have not entered the heart of man,
All that God has prepared for those who love Him.”

10 [a]For to us God revealed them through the Spirit; for the Spirit searches all things, even the depths of God. 11 For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so the thoughts of God no one knows except the Spirit of God.

God is once again speaking and spurring me on through the Holy Spirit, giving me confidence that greater things are indeed coming through all of this!  And let me just add, this is one more affirmation after many, many others that I have had to write and re-blog.  Even last week in church I was given a prophetic word that this was my season to write and craft, which just brings tightness to this whole thing!!!!  That’s the inspiration that keeps me moving forward.  The voice of the Holy Spirit spurring me on through others and what I know deep within..

So in taking on these tasks, I dont’ know how often my blog writing will be, but I will post at least once a week for both my sake and yours.  The writing will still be inspirational but I may have a totally different feel from before since I have grown a lot as a writer and a Child of God.  So, I hope you have been encouraged to move forward in your own journey and I hope that you will find encouragement as you read what God places on my heart to share.  Please keep me in your prayers for perseverance in this all. Thanks!!   Blessings, Robin

Leave a comment